Camerata Cayrasco


Camerata Cayrasco is an ensemble dedicated to the performance of secular music - and sacred music when in a domestic context - linked to academies, private residences and theatres. The group takes its name from Bartolomé Cairasco de Figueroa (1538-1610), the Canarian poet, playwright and musician, founder of the first humanist academy in the Canary Islands. 



Humanism & Renaissance in the Canary Islands

Music and poetry for the ‘Academia del Apolo Délfico’

Elizabeth Drury, soprano - rebec, 3 viols, vihuela/lute

Claudio Monteverdi: Sacred & Profane         NEW!

Madrigals and Sacred Music

4 sopranos, 3 altos, 3 tenors, 2 basses, theorbo, organ

William Lawes: Royall Consort Suites

Suites for violins, viols & theorboes

2 violins, 2 viols, 2 theorbos

Henry Purcell: Dido & Aeneas

Opera in 3 acts

soloists, choir, strings, continuo. Duration: 1h

Sebastián Durón: Forest Enchanted by Love (c1695)

Opera in Spanish (2 acts + 2 intermezzi) composed to celebrate the birthday of the Count of Oñate

8 soloists, choir, violin, viol, continuo. Duration: 1h 30m

Antonio Literes: The Elements (c1715) 

Allegorical Serenata in Spanish composed to celebrate the birthday of the Duchess of Medina de las Torres

6 soloists (Water, Fire, Wind, Earth, Time, Dawn), choir, 2 cornetts, viol, strings, continuo. Duration: 75m

G. F. Handel: Acis & Galatea, HWV 49

Pastoral Opera in 2 acts

soloists, choir, chamber orchestra, continuo. Duration: 1h 30m

G. F. Handel: Of Tempests & Love    

Soprano Arias & Orchestral Works

Elizabeth Drury, soprano - chamber orchestra

The Age of the Enlightenment in the Canary Islands

Music & poetry of the Enlightenment in Tenerife

Matthew Long, tenor - violin, violoncello, harpsichord, 5c-guitar

W. A. Mozart / L. van Beethoven / R. Schumann: Symphonies

chamber orchestra

Gustav Mahler: Symphony no. 4 (arr. Stein, 1921)

for chamber ensemble & soprano

Elizabeth Drury, soprano

flute/piccolo, oboe/cor anglais, clarinet/bass clarinet, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, piano, harmonium, percussion

Late Romantic Works for Chamber Ensemble

Richard Wagner: Siegfried Idyll

Franz Schreker: Intermezzo & Scherzo

Gustav Mahler: Adagio from Symphony no. 9 (arr. Quinteiro, 2012)

Heitor Villa-Lobos: Chamber Music Works 

Sexteto Místico, Quarteto Simbólico, Chôros Bis, Distribuição de Flores, Trio (1921) & Chôros no. 7 “Septet”

flute, oboe, clarinet, alto saxophone, bassoon, violin, cello, celesta, harp, guitar, female voices